Whether you are new to the state of Illinois or have lived there for numerous years, searching for insurance for your car can be not only confusing but an unpleasant experience. Nobody really enjoys buying auto insurance, however there are a few things you should keep in mind to make your search not only easier but less unpleasant. The first thing you should know is what the state requires and the reason it is required. Secondly you should use this requirement as a baseline to find the right insurance for you which will not only make choosing an insurance provider easier but will also help you to save money as well.

State Requirement

When buying Illinois Auto Insurance | Illinois-Insurance.website, you should know what the state of Illinois wants to get in terms of coverage. While many companies will offer the states required coverage, you may also find extras tacked onto that coverage that you may want to review to see if they are exactly what you want or need. Illinois law requires you to purchase auto insurance that possesses liability insurance as well as uninsured motorist coverage. Each of these are extremely beneficial to you as it will ensure you won’t have to pay out of pocket for various things. While the state requires minimums, you will want to consider adding onto a basic plan to ensure the coverage of other expenses and damages as well.

What the State Requirement Covers

Liability insurance is a basic coverage that covers the cost of damages and injuries caused in an accident that you are determined to be at fault in. This plan covers $25,000 in bodily injury per injured person, $50,000 maximum per accident for injured people, and $20,000 for damages to property. This is only the minimum requirement and does not cover your own expenses though, only the injuries and property damages of others in the accident.

You must also have uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance as well which covers injuries to you and your passengers in the case of an accident with someone without or not enough coverage. The minimum limits for this coverage are $25,000 per injured person and $50,000 maximum per accident. This coverage does not include property damages and you will want to consider extra coverage to ensure that your vehicle is protected and can be replaced or repaired in the event of an accident.